Perks to Meetings on the West Side

I’ve been meeting with some really incredible and inspiring people as of late and today was no different. After a morning discussing some dynamic new ventures with a certain art media company on the West Side, I could think of no better way to spend the rest of my morning than taking in a little contemporary art and walking (and lounging a bit) on The High Line.

Before taking in the sunshine, I took a trip down memory lane and popped into the Shafrazi Gallery.  I should back up and explain that Tony was our New York art dealer when I produced contemporary exhibitions during my time in California.  Sadly, neither Tony or Hiroko were in that morning but I was able to see the current exhibition, Spring Fever, featuring some of Dennis’ friends, including Keith Haring and, one of my favorite artists, David Salle.  I will say, despite working with many Haring pieces and hearing some of the great stories about him, DH and Tony, his art itself never really blew my hair back.  It always felt very…80s, I suppose.  However, on this day, for whatever reason – whether it was nostalgia for my days working with DH or I just enjoyed these pieces more than DH’s (being that one of his reminded me of Beetlejuice) – my appreciation for his work grew a bit.

After getting my art fix, I changed out of my heels and headed up to The High Line, which is a 1.45 miles park along Manhattan’s West Side that was formerly an elevated railway for the Meatpacking District.  It’s packed on the weekends so I had to take advantage of this gorgeous Spring weekday to check out the recently opened 3rd segment of the park.

The High Line has also become a welcome destination for local handmade vendors such as La Newyorkina, who I stumbled upon during this wander.  They do frozen gourmet Mexican sweets and they had some incredible flavors of paletas (Spanish for ice pop), such as mango-chile, avocado, papaya-passion, key lime pie & cucumber-lime.  However, being the coconut addict that I am, opted for that and topped it with Mexican chili powder – can you say a-MA-zing?  Really a perfect end my morning on the West Side.

Here’s some shots from this morning’s adventures: (sorry, no photos of my coconut paleta – i ate it too fast) =)

Leave a comment